Twitter: The Rant (aka Part II)

Don't mind if I do!

As promised, as there is a break in classes and this is long overdue, I will rant a bit about why I don’t tweet nearly as much as I used to.

First, let me say that there is a time and a place for Twitter. People who use Twitter, tend to do so in order to appraise others of their daily goings on, share information with colleagues or other like-minded individuals, or get the latest scoop on whatever their favorite subject/celeb has to offer. I’m not going to site the resources again (see my first post about Twitter for those), but the point is that there is a time and a place. It is useful.

However, one of the big draws to Twitter is that you can use the internet and social networking to connect to a community (whether it’s geogratphical or topical). The kicker, though, is that people aren’t interested in being a part of a community when they aren’t appreciated, treated fairly, or contributing rather substantially in one way or another. The key here for me, personally, is the former.

I don’t want to be a part of a community that doesn’t value it’s members enough to protect them from each other. A community where one person makes a bad choice and is completely shunned. And another person makes the same choice, but is charismatic, and is cheered as a hero. A community where someone who is honest, and kind, and supportive is dismissed because the person who hurt him is revered. I can not be a part of such a community; I WON’T.

Although Twitter is literally populated with millions of users, in reality, it’s a tiny world where those who know you are GOING to find you whether you want them to read what you’re saying or not. Thank goodness for permissions.

The bottom line for me: If I’m supposed to be able to say whatever is on my mind, and feel safe, I need to know that what I say isn’t going to be used against me in my “IRL” social life. I need to know that I’m not inadvertently giving people fuel for their evil doings. I need to know that when I show up to a “tweetup”, I won’t be subjected to liars, swindlers, and people of an otherwise ill reputed nature. The obvious answer is to stop tweeting; and I have. Or… have I?

Leave a Reply

